Has Super Mario Brothers ever been ported to the C64?

Talk about C64 games. Not for emulation related problems.

Moderator: Lemoners

Post Reply
commodorejohn
Rick Dangerous
Rick Dangerous
Posts: 1886
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 11:56 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 38
Contact:

Post by commodorejohn »

The original ROM is actually 40 KB - 32 KB of program ROM plus 8 KB of tile data.
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Proteus/2, Moog Satellite, Oberheim SEM
User avatar
knue
Joe Blade
Joe Blade
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 1:06 am
Location: Germany
Age: 41

Post by knue »

But the NES can mirror sprites in hardware. This basically means that the sprite data almost doubles in size on the c64.
User avatar
Tom-Cat
Mikie
Mikie
Posts: 571
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:41 am
Location: Slovenia

Post by Tom-Cat »

knue wrote:But the NES can mirror sprites in hardware. This basically means that the sprite data almost doubles in size on the c64.
The c64 version unpacks and mirrors the sprites in realtime and caches them... so the data is not exactly doubled... maybe it is even less because of packing.
----------
Tom-Cat
User avatar
Mayhem
Cartridge King
Cartridge King
Posts: 8771
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2001 10:34 pm
Location: London
Age: 49
Contact:

Post by Mayhem »

As long as there's enough cycle time... Impossible Mission flips the sprites in memory in real time btw!
Mayhem64 - for all your cartridge needs!

"My aim is to produce games that have graphics and audio that will rape your eyeballs and take your ears from behind with a strap-on" - Jeff Minter
User avatar
knue
Joe Blade
Joe Blade
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 1:06 am
Location: Germany
Age: 41

Post by knue »

ah cool. didn't know that. I always thought that mirroring sprites in real time is for most games not really an option as it wastes too many cycles.
The fastest code I can think about is this:

Code: Select all

ldy #63                 ; 2 cycles
-
lax (base), y           ; 5 cycles * 63
lda mirrortable, x      ; 4 cycles * 63
sta sprite_frame_0, y   ; 5 cycles * 63
dey                     ; 2 cycles * 63
bpl -                   ; 3 cycles * 63 + 2
And then have 8 variants. That's more than 19 raster lines for mirroring just one sprite frame - not counting any setup code. For 8 sprites that wastes about 160 raster lines - half of the raster time available.
User avatar
Lasse
C64 Games Programmer
C64 Games Programmer
Posts: 4259
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2002 10:57 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by Lasse »

Usually not that many sprites change animation frame during one screen frame, so you can get away with quite little wasted rastertime, as long as you cache the results. And make sure that you don't glitch if you overshoot the frame rastertime, but just slow down.
User avatar
NM156
Jumpman
Jumpman
Posts: 4697
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 11:13 am

Post by NM156 »

knue wrote:ah cool. didn't know that. I always thought that mirroring sprites in real time is for most games not really an option as it wastes too many cycles.
The fastest code I can think about is this:

Code: Select all

ldy #63                 ; 2 cycles
-
lax (base), y           ; 5 cycles * 63
lda mirrortable, x      ; 4 cycles * 63
sta sprite_frame_0, y   ; 5 cycles * 63
dey                     ; 2 cycles * 63
bpl -                   ; 3 cycles * 63 + 2
And then have 8 variants. That's more than 19 raster lines for mirroring just one sprite frame - not counting any setup code. For 8 sprites that wastes about 160 raster lines - half of the raster time available.
You have to consider that Impossible Mission does this during the turning animation.
User avatar
knue
Joe Blade
Joe Blade
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 1:06 am
Location: Germany
Age: 41

Post by knue »

IC. But they only mirror the sprite frames for the main char I guess. Also Mission Impossible doesn't have to waste lots of raster time for scrolling.
Dave3622
Mikie
Mikie
Posts: 444
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 3:01 am
Location: Brighouse, UK
Age: 52

Post by Dave3622 »

I'm confused by the sprite colours in those screenshots. I thought multi-coloured sprites had two common colours, yet Mario has Red, Brown and Pink and Bowser has Green, White and Pink! Without Sprite overlays how is this possible?

edit; noticed that mario has hi-res brown so guess that's the overlay!
redrumloa
Zorro
Zorro
Posts: 1420
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 6:44 pm

Post by redrumloa »

This looks amazing! Sounds close to release? Will it be released as Super Mario Bros? if so, will it fly under radars? Some silly Amiga "Smurfs" game was released for free, and the developer got demands for cash or he'd be sued. he did make a whole website promoting it, which probably didn't help.

Maybe Super Tramiel Bros? Super Commodore Bros? Super Vic Bros? Super Butterfield Bros? :P
Rekrul
Usagi Yojimbo
Usagi Yojimbo
Posts: 6080
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 2:08 am

Post by Rekrul »

redrumloa wrote:This looks amazing! Sounds close to release? Will it be released as Super Mario Bros? if so, will it fly under radars? Some silly Amiga "Smurfs" game was released for free, and the developer got demands for cash or he'd be sued. he did make a whole website promoting it, which probably didn't help.
The more a game remake is hyped and promoted, the greater the chance that the original copyright holder will squash it like a bug. Which is why I always say that people should do these projects in secret and only tell the world when it's finished. Once it's released, it's too late to stop it and even if they take it down like the company demands, it will live on.
redrumloa wrote:Maybe Super Tramiel Bros? Super Commodore Bros? Super Vic Bros? Super Butterfield Bros? :P
I vote for the Goldbergs' version; Super Immigrant Plumbers. :)
zaphod77
Zorro
Zorro
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 1:46 am
Age: 48

Post by zaphod77 »

i'd actually prefer multiload, if only so people could make editors. :)
ZeroPaige
William Wobbler
William Wobbler
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 6:25 pm

Post by ZeroPaige »

Thanks for the nice comments. Yes, it is definitely close to being done and it will be released in a couple of days. As for the name, it is called: Super Mario Bros. 64

I have uploaded another video. Mainly to show the difference from the one I uploaded almost 6 years ago, but also to show it really is running on my C64.

Image
https://flic.kr/p/2e9foqn
User avatar
OmegaMax
Usagi Yojimbo
Usagi Yojimbo
Posts: 6684
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 11:36 pm
Age: 48

Post by OmegaMax »

ZeroPaige wrote:As for the name, it is called: Super Mario Bros. 64
:thumbsup:
User avatar
retroscener
Jack The Nipper
Jack The Nipper
Posts: 784
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 5:09 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Age: 52

Post by retroscener »

omgomgomg that looks amazing, and released in just a couple of days? 8O

My new Commodore two button sega mastersystem style gamepad has just arrived too. It should be perfect for this :D

My girlfriend boasts about beating this game on the NES. I will have to put her to the test on this :lol:
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest